Annual Awards
The RIMTA awards, listed below with their past recipients, recognize the achievements of many of these individuals and organizations.
page-template-default,page,page-id-1471,bridge-core-3.0.1,ctct-bridge283,ecwd-theme-bridge283,,transparent_content,qode-theme-ver-26.7,qode-theme-bridge,disabled_footer_bottom,qode_header_in_grid,wpb-js-composer js-comp-ver-6.8.0,vc_responsive,elementor-default,elementor-kit-3148

Annual Awards

Rhode Island has a long and storied maritime heritage–and the Ocean State is home to a high concentration of marine-trades companies, boating organizations, and a distinguished roster of industry leaders and world-class sailors. These individuals and organizations have served to expand our sport and move the Rhode Island marine trades forward.

The RIMTA awards, listed below with their past recipients, recognize the achievements of many of these individuals and organizations.

The John H. Chafee Boater of the Year Award is given to an individual who has contributed to the success of the recreational boating industry in Rhode Island or who has championed the cause of bringing recreational boating to the public.

  • 2001   Ted Hood, Sr.
  • 2002   Halsey C. Herreshoff
  • 2004   Dr. A. R. C. Wallace
  • 2005   James Noon
  • 2006   Luther Blount
  • 2007   Jim Long
  • 2008   Ken Kubic
  • 2009   Ken Read
  • 2010   Sheila McCurdy
  • 2011   Paul Harden
  • 2012   Janet Coit
  • 2013   Rome Kirby
  • 2014   Bart Dunbar
  • 2015   Neal Harrell
  • 2016   Kate Wilson
  • 2017   Kim Hapgood

The RIMTA Anchor Award is presented to a person or organization who, by their work and efforts, brings international attention to the marine-trades industry in Rhode Island. RIMTA presents up to two Anchor Awards each year.

  • 2012   Brad Read
  • 2012   Ken Read
  • 2013   Peter Van Lancker
  • 2013   Senator Sheldon Whitehouse
  • 2014   Eric Goetz
  • 2014   Sally Helme
  • 2015   Sail Newport
  • 2015   Discover Newport
  • 2016   Newport Shipyard
  • 2017   Newport Exhibition Group
  • 2018   Susan Maffei Plowden
  • 2019   Cynthia Goss

The J. Michael Keyworth Rising Tide Award is a meritorious honor presented to an individual who has effected positive and lasting change for the Rhode Island marine industry — a person whose efforts embody the phrase, “A rising tide lifts all boats.”

  • 2015   J. Michael Keyworth


Founders of the J. Michael Keyworth Rising Tide Award

  •    Al Conti   Snug Harbor Marina
  •    Bill Munger   Conanicut Marine
  •    Brad Read   Sail Newport
  •    Brandon Kidd   Pirate Cove Marina
  •    Carter Gowrie   Gowrie Group
  •    Dick Cromwell   Maritime Solutions
  •    Don Vivenzio   Point Judith Marina
  •    Eric Goetz   Goetz Composites
  •    Fred Bieberbach, Jr.   Bravo Marine
  •    Keith Yeoman   Nautor Swan USA East
  •    Lynn Fiorenzano   Silver Spring Marine
  •    Matt Gineo   Oldport Marine Services
  •    Nancy Piffard   Newport Exhibition Group
  •    Paul Harden   New England Institute of Technology
  •    Phil Garland   Hall Spars & Rigging
  •    Rives Potts   Brewer Yacht Yard Group
  •    Steve Prime   Gowrie Group
  •    Tom Rich   New England Boatworks